Meatless Monday: Vegan Mushroom Stroganoff And An Unwanted Visitor

Have I mentioned lately that I love Pinterest for all the amazing and interesting recipes it leads me to? I probably have, but I’ll mention it again.

Our 'Stroganoff' which was good, but not so much a Stroganoff!

Our ‘Stroganoff’ which was good, but not so much a Stroganoff! © Miyo Wratten 2013

Today’s recipe was again one that I came across thanks to my wanderings on that social media.

I’ve got to be honest and say that this dish didn’t quite hold up to my expectations of what a ‘Stroganoff’ really is — rich, creamy, decadent and saucy. While it was a tasty dish in its own right, beware of your expectations with this one!

Upon my first bite, I felt disappointment. Where was that velvety richness? Where was the creaminess of the Stroganoff? As I made a couple of negative comments, my husband reassured me that it was actually not a bad dish at all.

So, I took a couple of more bites, setting aside what I had been expecting thanks to the word ‘Stroganoff’, and just tasting it for what it really is: Mushrooms and kale in a tasty brown sauce with pasta. Not bad!

Simmering crimini and portabella mushrooms with kale in its brown sauce. Yum!

Simmering crimini and portabella mushrooms with kale in its brown sauce. Yum! © Miyo Wratten 2013

Here’s the link so you can try it out yourself. Remember, don’t think creamy saucy dish, think yummy tasty mushrooms with kale and brown sauce: http://kahakaikitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/mushroom-stroganoff-low-fat-vegan-so.html

The surprise element in this is the balsamic vinegar that adds a nice little bite to the taste of thyme. We had it with a little side salad and a local bread that we really enjoy, and it made a nice, hearty meal.

Our surprise guest at dinner, thanks to my son's twisted sense of humor.

Our surprise guest at dinner, thanks to my son’s twisted sense of humor. © Miyo Wratten 2013

Oh, the other surprise element was my son’s own personal touch to dinner tonight: His rubber spider in our butter dish. Just had to share that.

One thought on “Meatless Monday: Vegan Mushroom Stroganoff And An Unwanted Visitor

  1. Pingback: Quick Grilled Tempeh and Cool Couscous Salad | The Reluctant Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

