Home-made Veggie Burger: Hurray!

Second home-made veggie burger attempt: Success!

My "Perfect Veggie Burger" with some home-made chutney. © Miyo Wratten 2013

My “Perfect Veggie Burger” with some home-made chutney. © Miyo Wratten 2013

This was another Pinterest find, and in its description it promised crunch without mushiness. I tried this recipe out yesterday, and the recipe delivers on its promise. So thrilled!

In my first home-made veggie burger attempt (whose recipe came from the Whole Foods web site), my complaint was exactly that it was too mushy, almost slimy, and that the flavor was just off.

In this new recipe, which I found on Oh She Glows, it has everything one could ask for in a veggie burger: Crunch, flavor, firmness, definitely filling, healthy, AND it’s versatile. You can cook it any way you wish: bake, fry in a skillet, or grill.

Even better, you can partially cook these burgers in the oven, then toss them into your favorite receptacle for freezing, and keep them in the freezer for a quick, convenient, delicious and filling meal on a busy day.

Ready to mix! © Miyo Wratten 2013

Ready to mix! © Miyo Wratten 2013

What I loved best about this veggie burger was that it’s full of healthful ingredients: nuts (this recipe calls for almonds and sunflower seeds), vegetables (grated carrots, onions, and  black beans), lots of spices for tons of flavor (chili powder, cumin, garlic and fresh herbs of your choice), and a good dose of healthful grains (oat flour, ground flax seeds). The author (Angela) mentions her preferred method of preparing the burgers is in the skillet, and I have to agree. In the skillet, the texture becomes nice and crisp on the outside and the rest of the burger gets a bit of a better chew. That being said, I did try it on the grill as well (I ate these things literally for breakfast, lunch and dinner … and yes, they’re THAT good) and it was really delicious!

I’ve got the rest of the burgers – partially cooked (baked off in the oven for 15 minutes) – and ready to be fried or warmed up and cooked through in the oven some busy day that I’m sure to have coming up. I’ve got some leftover ingredients too, so I’ll make another batch of this and freeze it, too. Bye-bye grocery store, highly-processed soy-based veggie burgers!

Almonds and sunflower seeds added flavor and crunch to this unique burger. © Miyo Wratten 2013

Almonds and sunflower seeds added flavor and crunch to this unique burger. © Miyo Wratten 2013

Here’s the recipe: Angela’s Perfect Veggie Burger

When you’re done checking out and printing out the recipe, be sure to read her story. She’s truly an inspiration, and her honesty is amazing. I know you’ll love her web site as much as I have gotten to.

Leave a Reply

