Black Bean Toss-Together Soup (Vegan Friendly Recipe!)

Not sure about where you are, but in my neck of the woods, the weather has already taken a turn for the colder! It’s not the norm in the Northeast for it to be in the 60s during the middle of the day already, but that’s where our temps have been.

Delicious vegan black bean toss-together soup.

Delicious vegan black bean toss-together soup.

So, my thoughts have been turning towards comfort food, which makes me think of fall, which makes me think of the school year starting up again, which in turn makes me start thinking about quick easy dishes that I could make for when those hectic school weeks come around again.

Today’s recipe is actually straight from an episode of a podcast that I love to listen to, called One Bad Mother. Unfortunately I don’t remember which episode it was so I can’t properly give credit to the individual who talked about this recipe, which I feel bad about. If anyone out there listens to this show and knows which one it was, let me know and I’ll gladly link to it!

When I was listening to it though, the woman they were interviewing shared  this recipe that is pure genius. So easy that you don’t even need to drain the beans and corn! This soup is fast, and when I actually tried it, absolutely delicious. It’s very filling, nutritious and you honestly can’t screw it up. It was too good on too many different levels not to share.

The recipe I’ve outlined below is more of a loose guideline, really. You can add whatever you want to it. For example, I happened to have leftover lentils from the Lentil Loaf recipe I made earlier that week, and tossed those in so that they wouldn’t go to waste (though I didn’t include them below). The soup remained delicious and I’m sure benefited nutritionally from their addition.

I’ll be making this shortly today (along with a side of vegan corn bread, recipe for another day), and won’t have the vegetable broth that I originally used, but will use water and just add some extra garlic and other spices to help with the depth of flavor. I know it’ll stay amazing-tasting.

So, use this recipe as a starting point, and don’t be afraid to just toss together whatever you happen to have around!

Some of the ingredients that you can use in this super fast, easy, versatile and delicious dish!

Some of the ingredients that you can use in this super fast, easy, versatile and delicious dish!

Black Bean Toss-Together Soup
Serves around 6
Prep and cooking time: 20 minutes

1 10-oz can undrained black beans
1 11-oz can undrained“Mexicorn” or any other sweet corn (You can also us 1 cup frozen sweet corn)
1/2 cup jarred salsa (use more or less to your own taste)
1 small onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 cup vegetable broth (or water if you don’t have broth. If you do use water, just add a little more spices to help with the depth of flavor)
1 Tbsp onion flakes
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp olive oil

1) In a medium sized pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. When the pot is warm, add onions and green peppers. Add spices, and stir and cook until the onions are translucent.

2) Literally dump the rest of the ingredients into the pot and keep heating over medium heat. Stir occasionally until everything has heated through. Taste, and adjust seasonings to your own preference.

 

Leave a Reply

